Crunchy Quinoa Spring Salad

Standard

1e2d76e0ce0011e2a46122000a9f09e2_7

Today it was hot with a breeze, so even though I was in the mood for a salad, I wanted something a little more filling and a little warmer. I love quinoa. It is a great pasta alternative and this particular mix includes couscous, orzo, baby garbanzo beans and red quinoa. It’s a harvest grains mix from Trader Joe’s and living in Florida for so long and being deprived from this wonderful store was heartbreaking. I am so happy that long-distance relationship is now short-distance.

photo

Trader Joe’s Harvest Grains Blend

This recipe is really simple and extremely healthy. The worst thing in it is probably the tablespoon of butter you add into the boiling water for the quinoa…and you don’t even have to add it! Ingredients:

  • 1 bag of quinoa (whatever kind you’d like)
  • 1 small yellow onion, diced
  • 15 cherry tomatoes, cut into halves
  • 15 baby carrots, sliced into small pieces
  • 1 handful of spinach
  • 1/2 a cucumber

Cook the quinoa according to the directions. For this particular bag, it required me to boil the water and then add a little butter. I actually used some homemade lemon butter my mom had made earlier (now you know where I get it…). While the quinoa is sitting and absorbing the water, (the second step to cooking quinoa,) take out a bowl and lay a bed of the spinach down. Slice up all your vegetables and put them aside. When the quinoa is done, pour in all your vegetables and stir it up. Now, pour the mixture on top of the spinach. I topped the “salad” with a dollop of greek-yogurt and some cilantro to give the hot quinoa a cool-down. This was one of the easiest recipes I ever made and it just came to me randomly. You can definitely make it with other types of veggies, I wanted to make it with sugar snap peas but there were none left in the fridge 😦

Let me know how it goes!

Eat well,

S

Leave a Reply

